On Wednesday 12 May members contested the Howard Morris Trophy. This is a biennial competition for monochrome images originally instigated and sponsored by Howard Morris, one of our now late members whose great love was black and white prints and who also donated the trophy. The Howard Morris Trophy alternates with our other biennial competition, the Landscape Trophy. The competition is open to all club members (with no sections) who may submit two images that have not previously been entered in any league competition. Normally the images must be prints. But as print handling is impracticable in current circumstances, the competition this year instead required digital images. The Programme notes clarify that the images must be black and white “without any toning, colour popping, etc”. The subject matter is “open”.

The competition was judged this year by Colin Westgate FRPS MPAGB FFIAP, Zooming in from Mersea Island in Essex.  Colin has been taking photographs for over 60 years.  He is a Member of the London Salon of Photography and has exhibited throughout the world, gaining many awards.  He also lectures and judges at camera clubs throughout the UK.

49 Images were entered for the competition, well up on two years ago.  They covered a variety of subjects including travel, city/architecture, seascapes, landscapes, street/candid, portraits, and still life.

After the competition, Colin re-showed a number of the entries with some suggestions for how different post-processing might – or might not, he accepted – have improved the final images.  His “before” and “after” pictures initiated some interesting and spirited debate.

Help Promote the Club!! Like and Share the images and post on Facebook & Flickr

For details of the competition rules  CLICK HERE.

If you didn’t know, you can also post your comments at the bottom of the page. Engage with other Members and share your thoughts on the entries and judging. 

NB: Members can watch the competition in full on the ‘Members Only’ section of the website.

Howard Morris Memorial Trophy (49 entries)

  • 1st place – “Before Time” by Tim Gould

  • 2nd place – “Ngorogoro Crater” by Chris Warby

  • 3rd place – “Onwards and Upwards” by Tricia Meers

  • Highly Commended – “Alert” by Wendy Taylor

  • Highly Commended – “The Lonely Old Oak” by Martin Wood

  • Highly Commended – “Low Key Portrait” by Mike Kitchingman

  • Commended – “Surreal Farmscape” by Paul Dimitriou

  • Commended – “Mushrooms” by Jon Cruise

  • Commended – “Little Egret” by Sandra Eve

First Place             Second Place             Third Place

Highly Commended


All Howard Morris Memorial Trophy Entries (click image for full size)